Nikon: Baler

I’m not a pro when it comes to surfing, during my travel in Baler Aurora Philippines I tried surfing and manage to ride the waves, the feeling is something I cannot express in writing, its something you have to try.

Baler is one of the Surfing destination here in the Philippines, during my travel there was few surfers in Sabang, so when is the best season for Surfing in Baler?

According to the Aurora Philippines Website (www.Aurora.ph)

Surfing waves are present all year round, but the best waves come in from October to February.

The typhoon season coincides with the wet season from mid-June to November, although there are occasional typhoons in December. The area of Aurora is visited by typhoons at least 3 or 4 times a year. The typhoons blow in from the Pacific brought by the South-West Monsoon, through the South China Sea.

From October to March, the North-East Monsoon blows down from China. This is the best surf season. The hot months of May through early June bring a relatively calm sea breeze. During this time, the waves are small and are ideal for snorkeling, windsurfing and diving.

During my travel I had my Nikon D3100 with me but due to the strong winds I feared that sands will get into the lens so after taking a few shots I kept it and took my iPhone 5c for taking photos for the rest of my stay in Baler.

Now I do not want to compare Nikon DSLR to iPhone since I know that there was an argument about which is ‘Better’ camera between the two and I know for the fact that there had been several comparison, I just want to share the Photos I took with my Nikon D3100 during my travel in Baler since on my first post all photos was taken using iPhone.

I used Nikon D3100 AF-S 18-55mm Kit Lens and Adobe Photoshop CS3 for watermark.

3 thoughts on “Nikon: Baler

Leave a Reply

